Cheese Making: Which Milks Are Used?
We love to tell you more about the cheese making process here at Shisler’s Cheese House. The more that you know about cheese, the more you can shop for your favorites and discover new delicious delights.
Today we’re going to explain the different kinds of milk used in cheese making and which cheeses you might find them in.
Sheep’s milk has a high lactose content. This means that we rarely drink it, but it is used extensively in cheese and yogurt making. It can sometimes have a distinctive flavor, although this is often masked by the salt used to create the cheese.
Sheep’s milk cheeses include Manchego and Pecorino. Romano Pecorino is made from the milk of sheep that have grazed on specific grasses to impart flavor into the milk. If you love blue cheese, then Roquefort is made with sheep’s milk and has a great tang to it.
Goat’s milk is more regularly enjoyed on cereal or as a drink than sheep’s milk. Its qualities mean that it sometimes suitable for those who cannot have cow’s milk.
You’ll find it in simple goat’s cheese or chevre. These cheeses have a creamy texture and a distinct, complex flavor. They are great for cooking with as this flavor works well with many sweet and savory ingredients. It also melts very well, making it an excellent way to add cheesiness to dishes.
The most common of the kinds of milk used to make cheese. It has a good amount of fat and protein which makes it favorable for the cheese making process. Look out for cow’s milk cheeses that do not contain any artificial hormones.
This is one of the hardest types of milk to get hold of and so it is very prized within the dairy industry. It is mostly used to make mozzarella and gives it a particularly creamy taste and texture as it has a high fat content.
More unusual milk
These are the different types of milk that you’ll usually find represented on a cheese shelf, but there are still more unusual ones being used all the time. Perhaps you might like to try reindeer or moose cheese? In some countries, cheese made from the milk of a camel is enjoyed. Donkeys, horses, and yaks have all had their milk used to make cheese to enjoy. We are also seeing a rise in non-dairy milk being used to create cheeses that are suitable for vegans or those who cannot eat dairy products. Who knows what will be next into the cheese market?
We hope you’ve enjoyed our quick tour of the different kinds of milk used in the cheese making process. Next time you pop in to fill up your cheese shelf, why not try something made form a more unusual milk and see if you can taste the difference?
Which kind of cheese is your favorite? Let us know in the comments!